Michael Viscardi wins National Science Competition

The Siemens Westinghouse Competition in Math, Science and Technology - The $100,000 scholarship winner of the individual prize is Michael Viscardi of San Diego, California.(Dec 5, 2005)

Are you a Math Major?

Want to find out what careers are available to you? Come to the Math Club Career Seminar - Thursday, Nov 17, 3:30pm APM 2402.
Robert Sanchez, VP & CTO, inCode - Wireless Technology
Jeff Jolley, VP & Chief Actuary, Pacific Life Insurance
Refreshments will be served!(Nov 9, 2005)

Noncommutative Algebra Conference -

- in honor of Professor Lance Small's 65th Birthday.
UCSD, February 18-20, 2006. Details.

(Nov 9, 2005)

2005 Dean's Awards

The Dean's Undergraduate Awards for Excellence 2005 Math Dept recipients are:
George Bouvier, Will Garner, Crystal Li, Jonathan Luk, Patrick Sanan, Michael Skirvin and Heidi Tan.
Congratulations! Photos(Oct 21, 2005)

DOE's Office of Science Award for Math Research to-

Math Dept Professor Michael Holst a Principal Investigator in a team led by Mitchell Luskin, University of Minnesota and including Eric Bylaska of Pacific Northwest Nat. Lab.
Project: Multiscale Design of Advanced Material based on Hybrid Ab-Initio and Quasicontinuum Methods.
Full list of projects.(Jul 22, 2005)

Mathematics Workshop

Workshop on Geometric Analysis and Flows
Mathematics Department, AP&M Room 6438
University of California, San Diego
July 18-22, 2005(Jul 18, 2005)

Bruce Arnold - Outstanding Teacher Award

Bruce Arnold - GSDMC (Greater San Diego Mathematics Council) College Level Outstanding 2004-2005 Classroom Mathematics Teacher Award.
In April Bruce coordinated the very successful 48th Annual Honor's Math Contest, sponsored by GSDMC and UCSD. This year 133 students from 18 schools participated.(Jun 17, 2005)

Glenn Tesler - Hellman Fellow

Congratulations to Glenn Tesler, a 2005-06 Hellman Fellow.(May 18, 2005)

Math Club - Career Seminar

Thinking of Graduate School in Mathematics? Come and hear and question our panel on preparing and applying to grad school.
2:30pm Tuesday, May 24 - APM6438
Refreshments will be served(May 18, 2005)

Southern California Number Theory Day

UCSD, May 21, 2005 - Details(May 16, 2005)


Congratulations to Salah Baouendi and Linda Rothschild on being elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.(Apr 26, 2005)

UCSD Mathematics Graduate Open House for 2006

April 06 - April 07. Program and Accommodations information now available.(Mar 21, 2005)

Algebraic Thinking Institute

The UCSD-TV On Beyond program about the Algebraic Thinking Institute, "Innovation in Math Teaching" is now available on-line. You may access the whole On Beyond show or just the ATI segment in Real Player.(Mar 4, 2005)

Glenn Tesler - Sloan Research Fellowship

Congratulations to Glenn Tesler - a 2005 recipient of a Sloan Research Fellowship for his research in Molecular Biology.
Serge Belongie from Computer Science & Engineering is also a 2005 recipient.(Feb 25, 2005)

Bill Helton Elected IEEE Fellow

Bill Helton has been elected a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for his contributions to frequency-domain design of robust systems. The IEEE is the largest professional organization in the world.(Jan 3, 2005)

Cristian Popescu-Simion Stoilow Prize

Cristian Popescu has won the 2004 Simion Stoilow Prize of the Romanian Academy of Science for his paper, "Base Change for Stark-type Conjectures over Z" (Journal fur die Reine und Angew. Mathematik, Vol 542 (2002), pp 85-111).(Jan 3, 2005)

Updated 01/02/2018 09:10 PM