Skip to main content



Linda Rothschild - Inaugural Fellow of AWM

Congratulations to Professor Emeritus Linda Rothschild who has been named a member of the inaugural 2018 Class of AWM Fellows by the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM).

(Dec 21, 2017)

James McKernan - 2018 Breakthrough Prize

Congratulations to Professor James McKernan who was awarded the 2018 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics, jointly with Christopher Hacon (University of Utah). McKernan and Hacon will share $3 million. See award ceremony video from National Geographic. See UCSD news release and thisweek@ucsandiego feature.

(Dec 3, 2017)

In Memoriam: Ronald K. Getoor, 1929-2017

Professor Emeritus Ronald K. Getoor died on October 28, 2017 at the age of 88.  See Ronald Getoor memorial website.

(Nov 27, 2017)

Peter Ebenfelt, Lei Ni - 2018 Fellows of the AMS

Congratulations to Professor Peter Ebenfelt and Professor Lei Ni who have been selected as members of the 2018 Class of Fellows of the AMS by the American Mathematical Society (AMS).

(Nov 1, 2017)

Ruth Williams - 2017 WORMS Award for the Advancement of Women in OR/MS

Congratulations to Professor Ruth Williams who was awarded the 2017 WORMS Award for the Advancement of Women in Operations Research and the Management Sciences (OR/MS) by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS)

(Oct 25, 2017)

Jeffrey Remmel Memorial - Jan. 9, 2018

A memorial event for Professor Jeffrey Remmel will be held on Tuesday, January 9, 2018 from 2:00pm-5:00pm at the UCSD Faculty Club. Please RSVP at the Jeffrey Remmel memorial website.

(Oct 23, 2017)

Dimitris Politis - Chair-Elect, Nonparametric Statistics Section, ASA 2017-2018

Congratulations to Dimitris Politis who has been elected as the Chair-Elect of the Section on Nonparametric Statistics of the American Statistical Association (ASA) 2017-2018.

(Oct 16, 2017)

Sam Buss - Bernard Bolzano Medal

Congratulations to Professor Sam Buss who was awarded the Bernard Bolzano Honorary Medal for Merit in the Mathematical Sciences by the Czech Academy of Sciences.

(Oct 16, 2017)

In Memoriam: Jeffrey B. Remmel, 1948-2017

Distinguished Professor Jeffrey B. Remmel died on September 29, 2017 at the age of 68.
See Jeffrey Remmel memorial website.

(Oct 6, 2017)

Rosenblatt Lectures 2017 - Oct. 20, 2017

The 2017 Murray and Adylin Rosenblatt Endowed Lecture Series in Applied Mathematics will be held from 3:00pm-6:30pm on October 20, 2017 at UCSD. Tamar Schlick (NYU) and David Donoho (Stanford) will speak. Register to attend at the lecture series website.

(Oct 5, 2017)

In Memoriam: John W. Evans, 1935-2017

Professor Emeritus John W. Evans died on August 20, 2017 at the age of 82. See UCSD Campus Notice.

(Sep 14, 2017)

In Memoriam: Ted Frankel, 1929-2017

Professor Emeritus Theodore "Ted" Frankel died on August 5, 2017 at the age of 88. See UCSD Campus Notice.

(Aug 31, 2017)

UCSD Mathematics Ranked 18th Globally (12th Nationally) by ShanghaiRanking

ShanghaiRanking's Global Ranking of Academic Subjects (GRAS) 2017 has ranked UCSD Mathematics 18th globally (12th nationally).

(Aug 30, 2017)

Jason Schweinsberg - 2017 IMS Fellow

Congratulations to Professor Jason Schweinsberg who has been elected as a 2017 Fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics (IMS).

(May 3, 2017)

Adrian Ioana - ICM 2018 Invited Speaker

Professor Adrian Ioana has been selected as an invited speaker for the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) 2018 that will be held August 2018 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Congratulations to Adrian for this distinct honor!

(Apr 20, 2017)

Geometry of Moduli Spaces Workshop - May 19-21, 2017

The workshop "Geometry of Moduli Spaces" will be held May 19-21, 2017 at UCSD.

(Apr 11, 2017)

Sean Curry - Best Doctoral Thesis 2016

Sean Curry is a recipient of the Vice-Chancellor's Prize for Best Doctoral Thesis in 2016 at The University of Auckland, New Zealand, for his thesis "Submanifolds in Conformal and CR Manifolds and Applications". Curry is currently a Stefan E. Warschawski Visiting Assistant Professor at UCSD.

(Apr 4, 2017)

SCAPDE - April 1-2, 2017

The Southern California Analysis and Partial Differential Equations (SCAPDE) 2017 conference will be held April 1-2, 2017 at UCSD.

(Mar 16, 2017)

SCNTD - March 4-5, 2017

The next Southern California Number Theory Day (SCNTD) conference will be held at UCSD on March 4-5, 2017. Please visit the conference website for further information:

(Feb 13, 2017)

24th SCGAS at UCSD - February 11-12, 2017

The 24th Southern California Geometric Analysis Seminar (SCGAS) will be held February 11-12, 2017 in Center Hall 105 at UCSD. The seminar is an annual event supported by NSF, rotating between UCI and UCSD. This year's speakers are:

  • Tom Ilmanen (ETH)
  • Fang-Hua Lin (NYU)
  • William Minicozzi (MIT)
  • André Neves (Chicago)
  • Joel Spruck (Johns Hopkins)
  • Lu Wang (Wisconsin)
  • Michael Wolf (Rice)

The registration is FREE for UCSD faculty and students.

(Feb 3, 2017)

Updated 05/28/2019 01:41 PM