May 1, 2024

Professors Peter Ebenfelt and Natalia Komarova are among 502 scientists, engineers and innovators who have been recognized for their scientifically and socially distinguished achievements by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), one of the world’s largest general scientific organizations.

Peter Ebenfelt is a Distinguished Professor of Mathematics. He has served as chair of the Department of Mathematics and as associate dean for research in the School of Physical Sciences. He is currently the school’s associate dean for faculty advancement and success. Ebenfelt’s research is in complex analysis, complex geometry and partial differential equations.

Natalia Komarova joined UC San Diego as professor of mathematics and a Dean’s Scholar in 2024. Komarova’s research interests lie at the interface between mathematical and life sciences. She believes that fascinating natural phenomena can be translated into interesting mathematical problems. Evolutionary dynamics is a theme that unites the different areas of application, which include cancer modeling, virus dynamics and language evolution.