April 29, 2024

Congratulations to Tianyi Zheng for being awarded the prestigious 2024 Rollo Davidson Prize for her profound contributions and resolution of long-standing conjectures regarding random walks on groups.  

The Rollo Davidson Prize, established in memory of Rollo Davidson (1944-1970), has been annually recognizing young probabilists since 1976. The prize is awarded on the basis of nominations generated by the Rollo Davidson Trustees.  The Trust was founded in 1975 in memory of Rollo Davidson, an accomplished mathematician of remarkable potential, and Fellow-elect of Churchill College, Cambridge, who died on the Piz Bernina in 1970.  Initial funding from the Trust came from the royalties of two collections of papers published in 1973/74 by friends and colleagues of Rollo, and it has benefited from the continuing association with the Davidson family.