Fan Chung Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Congratulations to Fan Chung, Distinguished Professor Emerita of Mathematics and Paul Erdos Professor in Combinatorics, on her election to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS).  Professor Chung Graham joins a body of 2,617 active scientists who were elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. The NAS, established by an Act of Congress signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863, is committed to furthering science in America, and its members are active contributors to the international scientific community

May 2, 2024

Two Mathematicians Elected 2023 AAAS Fellows

Professors Peter Ebenfelt and Natalia Komarova are among 502 scientists, engineers and innovators who have been recognized for their scientifically and socially distinguished achievements by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), one of the world’s largest general scientific organizations.

Peter Ebenfelt is a Distinguished Professor of Mathematics. He has served as chair of the Department of Mathematics and as associate dean for research in the School of Physical Sciences. He is currently the school’s associate dean for faculty advancement and success. Ebenfelt’s research is in complex analysis, complex geometry and partial differential equations.

Natalia Komarova joined UC San Diego as professor of mathematics and a Dean’s Scholar in 2024. Komarova’s research interests lie at the interface between mathematical and life sciences. She believes that fascinating natural phenomena can be translated into interesting mathematical problems. Evolutionary dynamics is a theme that unites the different areas of application, which include cancer modeling, virus dynamics and language evolution. 

May 1, 2024

Tianyi Zheng Receives 2024 Rollo Davidson Prize

Congratulations to Tianyi Zheng for being awarded the prestigious 2024 Rollo Davidson Prize for her profound contributions and resolution of long-standing conjectures regarding random walks on groups.  

The Rollo Davidson Prize, established in memory of Rollo Davidson (1944-1970), has been annually recognizing young probabilists since 1976. The prize is awarded on the basis of nominations generated by the Rollo Davidson Trustees.  The Trust was founded in 1975 in memory of Rollo Davidson, an accomplished mathematician of remarkable potential, and Fellow-elect of Churchill College, Cambridge, who died on the Piz Bernina in 1970.  Initial funding from the Trust came from the royalties of two collections of papers published in 1973/74 by friends and colleagues of Rollo, and it has benefited from the continuing association with the Davidson family.

April 29, 2024

Melvin Leok Receives Lattimer Research Fellow

Congratulations to Melvin Leok on receiving the George W. and Carol A. Lattimer Research Fellowship. The award is designed to support innovation, entrepreneurial spirit and cross-disciplinary initiatives to generate new ideas and research areas.

April 16, 2024

Jacques Verstraete receives 2024 Frontiers of Science Award in Mathematics

Congratulations to Jacques Verstraete for being selected by the International Congress of Basic Sciences as a recipient of the 2024 Frontiers of Science Award in Mathematics.

Instituted in 2023 under the auspices of the ICBS and sponsored by the City of Beijing and the Yanqi Lake Beijing Institute of Mathematical Sciences and Application (BIMSA), the FSA recognizes groundbreaking research through recent papers that have made significant breakthroughs in their respective fields. Nominations for the award are open to researchers worldwide, with a panel of esteemed experts reviewing and shortlisting candidates across various research areas. Winners are then selected by a Global Committee appointed by the ICBS. The awardees are invited to accept the honor in person at the ICBS event held in July 2024 at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing, China. In 2023, a total of one hundred thirty-two awards were presented across Mathematics, Theoretical Physics, and Theoretical Computer and Information Sciences. For further details, please refer to:

April 15, 2024

Amir Mohammadi honored with 2024 Brin Prize in Dynamical Systems

Congratulations to Amir Mohammadi for being honored with the prestigious 2024 Brin Prize in Dynamical Systems. Sponsored by Google co-founder Sergey Brin and established in honor of Michael Brin, a retired math professor from the University of Maryland renowned for his work in dynamical systems, this esteemed prize recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field. Notably, the recipient must be within 14 years of receiving their PhD. Since its inception in 2008, the Brin Prize has been awarded biennially until 2017, after which it became an annual event. As of this year, there have been thirteenth recipients of this award, with some past awardees subsequently going on to receive the Fields Medal, one of the highest honors in mathematics. For more information, please visit:


April 15, 2024

Professor Ruth Williams received an honorary Doctor of Science

On December 11, 2023, Ruth Williams received an honorary Doctor of Science from the University Of Melbourne, Australia. View list of honorary degree holders here.

December 11, 2023

SEW Srivatsav Kunnawalkam Elayavalli receives UCLA Chancellor's Award for Postdoctoral Research

Congratulations to Srivatsav Kunnawalkam Elayavalli on receiving UCLA Chancellor's Award!

November 14, 2023

Congratulations to Freddie Manners - Proof of the 'Polynomial Freiman--Ruzsa Conjecture' (conjectured by K. Marton)

Tim Gowers, Ben Green, Freddie Manners and Terry Tao have now solved it over a field of characteristic 2. Congratulations! Read more

November 13, 2023

UC San Diego Math Graduate Program - US News Top 5 "Best Discrete Mathematics and Combinatorics Programs"

During the last fifteen years, the combinatorics group at UCSD has consistently ranked in the top six by the US News and World Report. It is currently ranked No. 5 (up from No. 6) in the 2023 graduate rankings.

October 24, 2023